Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Rocking Bonnie Tyler

All Bonnie Tyler all the time....

30 YEARS - Holding Out For A Hero [Song]

 

Song: Bonnie Tyler – Holding Out For A Hero

Album: Footloose Soundtrack
Year: 1984
Label: CBS
Country of origin: USA



Holding Out for a Hero est écrite par Jim Steinman et Dean Pitchford pour Bonnie Tyler et lancée en 1984 sur la bande sonore du film Footloose puis le thème instrumental fut utilisé pour la série Cover Up. Plus tard, la chanson sera intégrée à l'album Secret Dreams and Forbidden Fire de Bonnie Tyler. En 1984, elle atteint le 96ème place du Top 100 au Royaume-Uni, puis le 2ème plcae au Top 50 en 1985 sous le format 45 Tour . Puis le single refait une sortie dans les bacs en 1991 sous le format d'un CD single et d'un maxi 45 Tour. Le solo instrumental de la chanson est un sample de Stark Raving Love de l'album Bad for Good (1981). Les paroles d'un besoins inconditionnel d'un homme fort ayant l'étoffe d'un héro tel que Hercules sur un font de guitare rock et une mélodie forte et accrocheuse au synthé pop des 80s. C'est grâce au grand succès du film aux Etats-Unis que Bonnie Tyler a bénéficier d'une bonne exposition médiatique pour débuté sa carrière face à de grande stars émergeantes comme Madonna à la même époque. La chanson fut également utilisé par la chaîne anglaise Channel 4 pour la promo de la retransmission de la final du Superbowl. Aujourd'hui Holding Out for a Hero reste une chanson incontournable pour Bonnie à chaque représentation live.

 

***

 

Bonnie Tyler made a true 80s rock anthem here. It’s hard not to get pumped up just listening to this song. It originally appeared on the soundtrack for the Kevin Bacon film Footloose, but the very same year (1984) it also appeared as the theme song for the TV show Cover Up. Not only that but it was also used as the theme song of the Channel 4 NFL show in the 80s which made American Football so popular in the UK back then.

 

Les paroles (lyrics) :

Where have all the good men gone
And where are all the gods?
Where's the street-wise Hercules
To fight the rising odds?
Isn't there a white knight upon a fiery steed?
Late at night I toss and I turn and I dream
of what I need

[Chorus]

I need a hero
I'm holding out for a hero 'til the end of the night
He's gotta be strong
And he's gotta be fast
And he's gotta be fresh from the fight
I need a hero
I'm holding out for a hero 'til the morning light
He's gotta be sure
And it's gotta be soon
And he's gotta be larger than life

Somewhere after midnight
In my wildest fantasy
Somewhere just beyond my reach
There's someone reaching back for me
Racing on the thunder and rising with the heat
It's gonna take a superman to sweep me off my feet

[Chorus]

Up where the mountains meet the heavens above
Out where the lightning splits the sea
I could swear that there's someone somewhere
Watching me

Through the wind and the chill and the rain
And the storm and the flood
I c
an feel his approach
Like the fire in my blood

[Chorus]

I need a hero. I'm holding out for a hero 'til the end of the night

 

Source: Wikipedia, Retromash.com

30 YEARS - Holding Out For A Hero [Song]30 YEARS - Holding Out For A Hero [Song]30 YEARS - Holding Out For A Hero [Song]
30 YEARS - Holding Out For A Hero [Song]
Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article